Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘Annual General Meeting’

Notice of 2022 Annual General Meeting

Thursday, November 17th, 2022

All members are invited to attend the 2022 Annual General Meeting of Cork County Cricket Club which will take place at the Mardyke at 7.30pm on Thursday, 15th December.

The proposed agenda is set out below:

  1. Apologies
  2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting
  3. Hon. Secretary’s Report
  4. Hon. Treasurer’s Report
  5. Election of Captains, Officers and Committee Members for 2023
  6. Ratification of Child Safeguarding personnel for 2023
  7. Membership Subscriptions 2023
  8. Any Other Business

The Committee wishes to encourage all members to attend the AGM, which is a vital part of the Club’s calendar and is crucial to the successful operation of the Club. The AGM allows all members the opportunity to express their views on the future direction of the Club.

Officers elected for 2021 season

Wednesday, December 16th, 2020

The 2020 Annual General Meeting of Cork County Cricket Club took place on Tuesday, 15th December, in the slightly unusual surroundings of Zoom due to the ongoing Covid-19 restrictions.

The meeting saw a review of a condensed and extremely challenging 2020 season with the Honorary Secretary’s Report while the Honorary Treasurer David Griffin gave an in-depth summary of the financial impact of the Covid-19 pandemic and the outlook for 2021.

The officers, team captains and committee members were then elected for the upcoming year.

  • President: Kieran Aherne
  • Treasurer: David Griffin
  • Secretary: Kevin O’Sullivan
  • Club Captain: Ross Durity
  • 2nd XI Captain: Robert Duggan
  • 3rd XI Captain: Peter Barlow
  • 4th XI Captain: Bilal Ahsan

Committee Members:

  • Len Browne
  • Robert Duggan
  • John Power
  • Abubakar Saddique
  • Abdul Jabbar Younus
  • Andrew Wootton
  • Pat Donnelly (Youth Committee Chair)

There was also praise for the hard work of Pat Donnelly who undertook the Covid-19 Safety Officer duties for the duration for the 2020 season. Without this tireless dedication and attention to detail then the training and games which the club was lucky to enjoy would not have been possible.

2021 Subscriptions

The Honorary Treasurer outlined adjustments to the annual membership subscriptions for the upcoming season and following no objections from the attendees, the new rates were passed and were applicable with immediate effect.




Preparations begin for 2019 season following AGM

Wednesday, November 28th, 2018

The 2018 Cork County Cricket Club Annual General Meeting took place on Monday, 26th November, at the Mardyke. As always the meeting offered a forum for members to to engage with the clubs committee and regarding the season just gone and looking to the challenges that lie ahead in 2019.

The elected officers from the meeting were as follows:

  • President: Kieran Aherne
  • Secretary: Kevin O’Sullivan
  • Treasurer: David Griffin
  • Club Captain: Robert Duggan
  • 2nd XI Captain: Kevin O’Sullivan
  • 3rd XI Captain: Abdul Jabbar Younus

Committee Members:

  • Talha Kayani
  • Abdul Jabbar Younus
  • Andrew Wootton
  • Len Browne
  • John Power

A motion from the Youth sub-committee was approved at the meeting which will see a member of that committee attending each of the main committee’s meetings.

The Club Captain will Chair the selection sub-committee and will nominate a captain for Cricket Leinster competitions in due course, but will be the de facto captain in all other 1st XI competitions unless otherwise stated.



Munster Cricket AGM

The Munster Cricket AGM took place on Sunday, 2nd December, at the Mardyke and saw a number of Cork County members elected to roles on the Executive for the coming season.

David Griffin was re-elected as Chairperson for another three term and will continue to oversee the implementation of the Munster Cricket Strategic Plan and the ongoing work to enhance the governance structures of the Union.

Robert Duggan, Veena O’Sullivan & Matt Reed were also elected as ordinary members to the Executive for 2019 and we thank them for their commitment and work for the club and Union. In fact, Veena O’Sullivan is only the second female member of the Munster Cricket Executive Committee following in the footsteps of Amanda Lanigan who served as President from 2005 to 2007.

Hassett named 1st Team Captain for 2018

Tuesday, December 5th, 2017

At the recent Annual General Meeting saw the election of Club Officers for the 2018 season. A reasonably well attended meeting saw three new captains elected for next season with Cormac Hassett taking the 1st XI captaincy reins from Stephan Grobler while Scott McNamarra and Talha Kayani take over the 2nd XI and 3rd XI, respectively.

Cormac Hassett to captain Cork County in 20182018 Elected Officers

  • President: Kieran Aherne
  • Secretary: Kevin O’Sullivan
  • Treasurer: David Griffin


2018 Elected Captains: 

  • 1st XI: Cormac Hassett
  • 2nd XI: Scott McNamarra
  • 3rd XI: Talha Kayani



  • 1️⃣ Len Browne
  • 2️⃣ Robert Duggan
  • 3️⃣ Talha Kayani
  • 4️⃣ Ronnie McDowell
  • 5️⃣ John Power
  • 6️⃣ Andy Wootton

There were special mentions for Matt Reed on his nomination for Irish Groundsman of the Year, and also for both Aaron Cawley & Diarmuid Carey on their call ups to the Irish representative squads at U19 and U17 levels, respectively.

Annual General Meeting – 4th December 2017

Monday, November 6th, 2017

All members are invited to the Annual General Meeting of Cork County Cricket Club takes place on Monday, 4th December 2017, commencing at 7.30 p.m. in the Clubhouse at the Mardyke, Cork.

The agenda of the meeting will be as follows:

  • Approval of AGM Minutes dated 5th December 2016
  • Secretary’s Report
  • Treasurer’s Report
  • Election of Officers for 2018
  • Subscription levels for 2018
  • Amendments to Club Rules
  • Any other business

As always it is important that members make an effort to attend the AGM to stay engaged with the current issues facing the club and most importantly have your say in regard to its future progress.

Kind regards,

Kevin O’Sullivan
Honorary Secretary