Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘munster t20 cricket’

County retain Munster T20 crown in style

Monday, July 3rd, 2017

Cork County retrain their Munster Senior T20 Blast title following two convincing victories over County Kerry and Cork Harlequins in the Semi-Final and Final, respectively. 

Munster Senior T20 Final: 
Cork County 81-3 (9 overs; King 36*, Saddique 27*) beat Cork Harlequins 80-8 (20 overs; Neppalli 3-9, Carey 2-13, Saddique 2-22) by 7 wickets. Scorecard: https://goo.gl/Ae7Hfi

Cork County 124-1 (11.2 overs; King 61*, Hassett 53) beat County Kerry 122-8 (20 overs; Anwar 48, Saddique 2-9, Duggan 2-14) by 9 wickets. Scorecard: https://goo.gl/kt5Luf


Cork County Rebels clinch Senior T20 title

Tuesday, June 21st, 2016

The Munster Senior T20 Blast reached an exciting climax on Saturday, 18th June, when the Cork County Rebels clinched their second successive T20 title following a 7 wicket victory over Co. Galway amid wet conditions at the Mardyke.

Finals Day saw the four Semi-Finalists compete for a chance the compete for the T20 title. Cork County, County Kerry, County Galway and Cork Harlequins all converged on the Mardyke to battle it out for a place in Saturday evenings Final. Victories for both Cork County and County Galway saw a repeat of the 2015 showdown.

As the Final approach, the weather took a turn for the worse with a light drizzle becoming more persistent during the County Galway innings after the Tribesmen won the toss and decided to bat. In a reduced match of 14 overs a side, the Galway batsmen set the holders a tricky total of 90 to win as the conditions put batsmen, bowlers and fielders to the test. The main contributions for Galway came from opener S Nasim (23), S Ramnathpur (24) and SQ Khan (22) with Bhatti (3-11) and Brian Kelleher (2-18) doing most damage with the ball.

In reply, Galway took the prized scalp of Stephan Grobler early but an extremely composed partnership from Cork County skipper Chris Banon and teammate Cormac Hassett kept the Leesiders on a par with the Required Run Rate. Durity replaced Banon, after the opener edged one behind to Nasim, and continued the momentum with 14 from 14 balls until he was clean bowled with the result still in the balance. A authoritative display of batting from Abubakar Saddique (16*) saw Cork County home with just 7 balls remaining and 7 wickets in hand.

Semi-Final A

Cork County Rebels 103-1 (Grobler 44*, Banon 36) beat County Kerry 101-8 (U Khan 45, A Cawley 3-8) by 9 wickets. scorecard

Semi-Final B:

County Galway beat Cork Harlequins


Cork County Rebels 91-3 (Hassett 39*) beat County Galway 89-7 (Ramnathpur 24, Bhatti 3-11, Kelleher 2-18) by 7 wickets at the Mardyke. [reduced to a 14 over match] scorecard



Crusaders continue winning streak in Cork T20 Cup

Monday, June 13th, 2016

Scot Jeffers and his Cork County Crusaders side continued their fine form in the Cork T20 Cup with two wins over the Harlequins Masters and Adbul Jabbar Younus’ Cork County Lions side.

Cork County Crusaders v Harlequins Masters

Friday, 10th June, at Farmers Cross.

Crusaders continued their winning streak winning by 21 runs in a close fought match.

Winning the toss and elected to bat, setting a target of 176 for Harlequins Masters. Andrew O Reilly (14) and Scot Jeffers (75) led the way with Peter Barlow (36) supporting and some big pinch hitting from Sachin Saxena 21 off 6 balls including 2 fours and 2 big straight sixes!

Harlequins Masters came out swinging from the start and matched the run rate but some good bowling from Brian Kelleher (0 for 8 from 2) at the start then Sachin Saxena (2 for 25 from 4) and Sam Zai (2 for 29 from 4) in the final overs.

Special mention must go to the excellent contribution by the Youth Players, Haroon Saffi and Eshan O’Sullivan for some excellent fielding and catches and to Rioghan O’Sullivan for bowling the death over for 2 runs and a wicket when Harlequins were chasing the win. ‪

Cork County Lions Vs Cork County Crusaders

Monday, 13th June, at the Mardyke.

Cork County Lions won the toss and batted first, putting 95 on the scoreboard. James Cresswell (13) and Sufian Riaz (13) top scoring in the innings with Sean Power (2 for 3 from 2) and Sachin Saxena (3 for 16 from 3) taking the wickets.

Cork County Crusaders replied with the winning runs scored in the 18th over. Peter Barlow (24), Talha Kayani (13) and Sachin Saxena (14) contributing the runs to get the team over the line.