Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘The Mardyke’

Blarney Castle renew partnership for 3 more years

Friday, February 22nd, 2019

Cork County Cricket Club and Blarney Castle are delighted to announce the extension of our existing partnership.

For the past three years, Blarney Castle have provided invaluable support to cricketing activities at the Mardyke, supporting players of all ages, backgrounds and abilities. This agreement sees that partnership continue for a further three years, with the famous Blarney Castle logo continuing to take pride of place on the front of the club playing shirts.

Welcoming the extension of the current agreement, Cork County Cricket Club President Kieran Aherne thanked Blarney Castle for their ongoing support and highlighted the link between two of Cork’s most picturesque settings, the Mardyke and Blarney Castle.


Groundsman Matt Reed featured in Aug/Sept issue of Pitchside Magazine

Thursday, September 11th, 2014

Cork County’s very own resident Kiwi and groundsman, Matt Reed, was interviewed for the August/September issue of Pitchcare Magazine. It’s well worth a read with Matt discussing his ongoing work and ambitions for the Mardyke: “With cricket growing strongly in Ireland, and especially with Cricket Ireland pushing towards a first class structure, my club aims to be the first choice venue for matches held outside of Dublin and the North.” #CCCC


Full issue available at:

Munster Development XI v MCC at the Mardyke (28th May)

Monday, May 27th, 2013

A Munster Development XI will take on the illustrious MCC at the Mardyke on Tuesday, 28th May, starting at 1.00 p.m. Fixture forms part of the MCC Spring tour against Irish Youth and Development teams and has been running for approximately the past 10 years. The fixture is a key component of the Munster Cricket Union’s attempts to provide competitive cricket to it’s emerging talent, however, exams have meant that the likes of Chris Banon, Rory O’Keefe and Ian Coleman are all unable to play.

The Munster Development selected is as follows:

  1. Brad Morgan (Cork County)
  2. Oliver Creedon (Cork County)
  3. Oscar Cotter (Cork County)
  4. Tim Clifford (Cork County)
  5. Robin Russell (Pembroke)
  6. Rhu Jones (Cork Harlequins)
  7. Anthony O’Reilly (Cork Harlequins)
  8. Brian O’Leary (Cork Harlequins)
  9. Alam Morshed (Co. Kerry)
  10. Owais Gohar (Co. Kerry)
  11. Sean Cawley (Thurles)