Cork Cricket Club

Koch to lead Cork County for 2011

Munster Player of the Year, Bruce Koch, was duly elected as Club Captain of Cork County for the coming 2011 season at last night’s Annual General Meeting. Koch received overwhelming support for the captaincy after an inspired season with bat and ball during 2010. He takes over from outgoing captain, Robert Duggan, who led the Club to a Munster League and Cup double and also consolidating their position in Leinster League Division 2.

The meeting also saw the election of a new committee for the coming season with Kieran Aherne continuing on in his role as Club President while David Griffin and Donal Donovan returned to their positions of Honorary Treasurer and Secretary, respectively. The newly elected committee will comprise Peter Dineen, Robert Duggan, Matt Reed, William J. Bradley, Andrew Wootton, Dick Creedon and Mortimer Kelleher. Cricket Manager, Peter Dineen, informed the meeting that preparations for the upcoming season, in which Cork County will participate in a full schedule of Leinster Division 2 fixtures, were well under way.

The efforts of the steering committee led by Shay Livingstone, John Power and David Griffin and the project management team of Matt Reed and Stephen Hickey which combined to oversee the superb renovation of the clubhouse and Pavilion following the severe flooding of November 2009 were duly noted and graciously appreciated by all in attendance. Congratulations were also aknowledged for Bruce Koch on winning the Munster Player of the Year in recognition of his outstanding season and also for Chris Banon who won Munster U-17 Player of the Year after a superb breakthrough season for the Presentation Brothers College youngster.

Cork County CC Officers for 2011:
Club President: Kieran Aherne
Club Treasurer: David Griffin
Club Secretary: Donal Donovan
Club Captain: Bruce Koch
2nd XI Captain: tba
3rd XI Captain: William J. Bradley
4th XI Captain: Eugene McCarthy

Club Committe:
Peter Dineen
Robert Duggan
William J. Bradley
Matt Reed
Andrew Wootton
Mortimer Kelleher

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.