Cork Cricket Club

Galty Cup 2014-PBC beat CBC by 7 runs in thrilling encounter

The 2014 edition of the Dermot Giltinan Schools Cricket Cup took place on Monday April 21st at the Mardyke. The home of Munster cricket was in excellent condition and was a fitting venue for a thrilling encounter between the rival schools.


CBC captain Kevin O’Sullivan won the toss and chose to bowl first in overcast conditions. Ian Coleman and Aidan Kelleher opened the batting for Pres with Alan McCarthy opening up with the ball from the River End. A solid first over conceded just three runs and things got even better for Christians soon after when PBC captain and star batsman Ian Coleman was caught by Brian Burke at mid-wicket off the bowling of Ross Hill.


Despite the good start, CBC began to leak runs, with wides a particular thorn in the side of the ‘away’ team. A mixture of patient defence and fluid attacking strokes brought Pres right back into the game with Aidan Kelleher in particular looking very comfortable at the crease. Saad Azher joined the attack from the University End but took a while to get going, his length too short to trouble the PBC batsmen.


The runs continued to flow from both ends and Kelleher moved into the thirties with a six over long on before CBC eventually made the breakthrough, Brian Burke taking a good catch at deep mid on off the bowling of spinner Kevin O’Sullivan. CBC seized upon their opening and just two deliveries later had added to it, sharp work in the field from Darragh Newman led to wicket keeper Cormac O’Mahony displacing the stumps leaving PBC three down.


Brian Kelleher came to the crease for PBC and put on 29 with his older brother Aidan(51) before the latter fell lbw to Kevin O’Sullivan, umpire Anthony O’Reilly having no hesitation in raising the finger.


The game was in the balance at this stage and it was Christians who took the initiative, taking the remaining Pres wickets for the loss of just sixteen runs including the final wicket, Ryan O’Connell who fell to the medium pace of Darragh Newman to leave PBC all out for 97.


The run chase started in earnest, Saad Azher and Cormac O’Mahony facing up to the medium pace of Aidan Kelleher and enjoying some early success. This was not to last however, O’Mahony having his stumps disturbed by the older Kelleher in the sixth over. Darragh Newman came to the crease for CBC but didn’t last long either, skying to mid on.


Saad Azher(50) and Kevin O’Sullivan put together a 32 run partnership to propel CBC towards the target but could not finish the job, the CBC captain pulling a short delivery straight to Brian Kelleher at mid-wicket.


Ross Hill, Brian Burke and Jack Kelleher all fell in quick succession for the school north of the river and despite a Saad Azher half century and Alan McCarthy looking well set at the crease, the consistency of the Pres bowling made the target of 98 seem an uphill battle.


CBC needed a solid partnership to see them through but were unable to find it, Jack Hartnett comically stumped after looking to advance down the wicket.


Pres only required one wicket to win, Christians required just 7 runs. David Grufferty joined Alan McCarthy at the wicket but despite his best efforts could not keep out the final delivery of Ian Coleman’s last over, a delivery that handed the ‘Galty’ Cup to PBC.

The CBC side which lost out to PBC in the 2014 Galty Cup.

The CBC side which lost out to PBC in the 2014 Galty Cup.


Kieran Aherne, president of Cork County Cricket Club made the presentation to winning captain Ian Coleman and spoke of his delight at seeing schools cricket at the Mardyke aswell as conveying his congratulations to both schools on producing a thrilling encounter for all in attendance and his hope that this competition will continue into the future.


Kevin O’Sullivan spoke on behalf of both captains to express his thanks to groundsman Matt Reed and the committee of Cork County Cricket Club for allowing the match to be played at the Mardyke, umpires Anthony O’Reilly and Stephan Grobler, Munster Cricket Union representatives John Ketch and Peter Dineen aswell as Peter Somerfield and Dermot Giltinan for attending. He also paid tribute to both teams and echoed Kieran Aherne’s sentiments that this fantastic competition continue into the future.


Comments are closed.