Cork Cricket Club

Memorable season celebrated at Annual Awards Dinner

Players, supporters and the wider CCCC community gathered at the Mardyke on Friday, 4th November, to attend the 2016 Awards Dinner. It was great to see members of all ages in attendance to help celebrate an extremely successful season for the club both on and off the field.

Cork County not only retained its Munster Premier Division and Senior T20 titles but also added the Leinster Division 2 title following a memorable comeback which included nine straight victories to see them pip Leinster CC to top spot and automatic promotion back to Division 1.

Morne Bauer was named Club Player of the Year after an exceptional season with bat and ball and a leading contributor to County’s climb to the top of Division 2 and promotion back to the top tier.

A special mention also to club stalwart and former Club Secretary, Donal Donovan, who received Honorary Life Membership in recognition of his immense contribution to the running and continued success of Cork County down through the years. Donal has been an integral part of the clubs fabric from 1960’s and is still a regular visitor to the Mardyke.

Roll on 2017! #WeAreCounty

Full List of 2016 Award Winners:

Player of the Year – Morne Bauer

Senior Batsman of the Year – Cormac Hassett

Senior Bowler of the Year – Aaron Cawley

Junior Player of the Year – Scot Jeffers

Minor Player of the Year – Tughrul Khan

Young Player of the Year – Aaron Cawley

Most Promising Young Player – Brian Kelleher

Club Person of the Year –  John Simon

U14 Player of the Year – Eshan O’Sullivan

U14 Batsman of the Year – Felix Joby

U14 Bowler of the Year – Rioghan O’Sullivan

U12 Player of the Year – Iftikhaar Rizwan

Honorary Life Membership – Donal Donovan

Comments are closed.