Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘Bob Kerr’

Pre-Season Friendlies Announced

Saturday, January 30th, 2010

Cork County have announced two pre-season friendlies in preparation for the 2010 season. Baxenden CC from the Manchester metropolitan area will visit the Mardyke once again to take on a Cork County XI in 50 over and T20 fixtures in early April. Cork County will then make the trip to Portlaois in late April to take on Laois CC in a rematch to last season’s friendly at the Mardyke.

Friday 9th April versus Baxenden CC at the Mardyke

Saturday 10th April versus Baxenden CC at the Mardyke

Saturday 24th April versus Laois CC at the Portlaois RFC

Cork County are hoping to announce additional pre-season matches in the build up to their Irish Cup 1st Round tie away to Civil Service (CSNI) at Stormont on the 8th of May.

Cork County drawn away to Civil Service (CSNI) in the Irish Senior Cup

Monday, November 16th, 2009

Bob Kerr Irish Senior Cup Draw 2010:

The 2010 draw for the Bob Kerr Irish Senior Cup has been made, and as usual there are a number of intriguing ties to whet the appetite. Cork County have been given a tough drawn away to Civil Service (CSNI) with the tie due to be played at the Stormont ground on the 8th of May.

35 clubs take part in the competition next year, with three Round One ties, which sees Downpatrick, winners in 1985 and 1991, making the trip to Dublin to face Old Belvedere. Rush, who were beaten finalists as recently as 2006, have home advantage over three times victors Lurgan, while CYM host Cork Harlequins. The three Round One fixtures take place on Saturday April 24th.

Round Two gets under way on Saturday May 8th with 1986 champions Phoenix hosting Glendermott, while Railway Union, the 2006 champions face the winners of the Rush versus Lurgan tie.

Holders Leinster start the defence of their trophy with a home fixture against either CYM or Cork Harlequins, while 2009 beaten semi finalists Pembroke will try and go one better with a tough home fixture against North Down, who were the last NCU side to taste victory in the competition, when they won the last of their three triumphs way back in 1995.

North County, the most successful side in the history of the cup with five wins in the last nine years, are home to Eglinton, while Brigade who tasted victory in both 96 and 99 entertain Instonians at Beechgrove.

1995 finalists Bready face tough opposition in the form of YMCA, while there’s another cracking tie in prospect when 1998 winners Strabane play a very talented Merrion side.

Killymallaght face Leinster double winners Clontarf, whose solitary appearance in the final came way back in 1990, while the first North West side ever to win the cup in 1987, St Johnston, make a return to Ireland’s premier competition after a 16 year absence, taking on 2002 victors Malahide in Donegal.

Lisburn have been handed tricky opponents in the form of three time winners Limavady who gave the NW their last triumph back in 2004, while Cork County face a long trek north to Stormont to play Civil Service North.

Another team with a long journey are 2007 beaten finalists The Hills who are away to Carrickfergus, while CIYMS host 2000 champions Donemana, who have been losing finalists in each of the past two campaigns. These two sides met in a thrilling quarter final this season, when Donemana chased down 295 to win with 5 overs to spare.

In the final two ties, 1998 losing finalists Ballymena play Fox Lodge, while Waringstown, winners way back in 1983 travel to play the winners of the Old Belvedere versus Downpatrick match.

The draw in full is as follows:

Round One – Saturday April 24th
A. Old Belvedere v Downpatrick
B. Rush v Lurgan
C. CYM v Cork Harlequins

Round Two – Saturday May 8
Phoenix v Glendermott
Railway Union v Winner of B
Leinster v Winner of C
Pembroke v North Down
North County v Eglinton
Brigade v Instonians
Bready v YMCA
Strabane v Merrion
Killymallaght v Clontarf
St Johnston v Malahide
Lisburn v Limavady
Civil Service North v Cork County
Carrickfergus v The Hills
CIYMS v Donemana
Ballymena v Fox Lodge
Winner of A v Waringstown