Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘cork county cricket’

2016 Leinster Division 2 fixtures announced

Wednesday, January 20th, 2016

Cricket Leinster’s Open Competitions Committee has announced fixtures for both Division’s 1 and 2 for the upcoming 2016. Following their relegation from Division 1 last season, Cork County will be seeking to push hard for one of the top two positions.

For 2016, there will be a change to the promotion format with the champions automatically moving up to Division 1 while the second placed side will face a playoff against the club finishing second last in the top division.

Cork County face another tough start to their season with three away fixtures in succession against Rush, Dublin University and Leinster, respectively. Balbriggan commence with a trip to College Park, whilst Terenure go to Malahide, who get their second home game of the season.

Cork County will host Balbriggan in The Mardyke on Saturday 3rd September, and with Balbriggan tipped by many to have a good season, that match could well be instrumental in deciding the top of the league.

The Leinster Division 2 fixtures involving Cork County are as follows:


Saturday 30th Rush v Cork County


Saturday 14th Dublin University v Cork County
Saturday 28th Leinster v Cork County


Saturday 4th Cork County v Malahide
Sunday 19th Terenure v Cork County
Saturday 25th Cork County v North Kildare


Saturday 9th Balbriggan v Cork County
Saturday 16th Cork County v Rush


Monday 1st Cork County v Leinster
Saturday 6th Malahide v Cork County
Sunday 21st Cork County v Terenure
Sunday 28th North Kildare v Cork County


Saturday 3rd Cork County v Balbriggan

You can view the full list of Leinster Division 2 fixtures on the Cricket Leinster website.

2015 Player Award Winners

Sunday, November 8th, 2015

The annual Club Dinner and Player Awards took place on Friday, 6th November, at the Mardyke which saw a great turnout from players and supporters as the triumphs and individual achievements from the 2015 season were recognised.

The individual player awards were as follows:


Senior Player of the Year: Andy Wootton

Clubman of the Year: Abdul Jabbar Younus

Senior Batsman: Morne Bauer

Senior Bowler: Abubakar Saddique

Junior Batsman Tim Clifford

Junior Bowler: Justin McGurk

Minor Players of the Year: Narsa Renjarla & Noelie Cronin

Minor Batsman: Abdul Jabbar Younus

Minor Bowler: Sachin Saxena

Young Player of the Year: Aaron Cawley

Emerging Player of the Year: Chris Van Heerden

Gallery to follow…


2015 Annual Club Dinner & Awards Night

Thursday, October 15th, 2015

The Annual Club Dinner takes place at the Mardyke Pavilion on Friday, 6th November, starting at 8 p.m. 2015 proved to be another successful one for the Cork County with the club competing strongly at all levels in Munster and Leinster competitions.

The Senior side led by Stephan Grobler completed a Munster Division 1 and Senior Cup double while also picking up the inaugural Senior T20 crown. There was disappointment with relegation from Leinster 1 but a strong performance in the Leinster Senior Cup saw them knocked out at the Semi-Final stage.

The 2nd XI also had a strong showing in Division 2 despite the strain put on the squad due to the extensive demands of the 1st XI on all fronts. Scot Jeffers led his side to the Junior Cup Finals where they narrowly lost out to Co. Kerry.

The Minor team under the stewardship of Abdul Jabbar Younus swept all in front of them clinching the Division 3 title with almost a month of the season still to play. The league and cup double was clinched following a dramatic Minor Cup Final victory over Tipperary County.

Menu will include a Halal/Vegetarian option.


Ticket cost €25 for adults and €15 for members under 18. Family packages available on request.

For tickets contatct:

Space is limited so please book your ticket as soon as possible. Payment can be made on the night.

2015 Annual Club Dinner


County cruise to Munster Senior Cup Final victory

Saturday, September 5th, 2015

Cork County swept County Kerry aside to clinch the 2015 Munster Senior Cup in the refixed match at the Mardyke. The victory is their 4th Senior Cup in the last six years and helped make up for their unfortunate elimination in last season’s competition.

Bowling first the Leesiders were soon on top with openers Andy Wootton (5-20) and Junaid Amin (2-16) turning the screw on the Kerry top order who were soon on 21-5.

Wicket keeper Uddin was the only Kerryman to make it into double figures as the rest of the batting order failed to establish any partnerships and were eventually bowled out for just 60.

In response, Kerry made early inroads by taking the wickets of openers Russell and Durity but Hassett (31*) and Grobler (16*) steadied the ship and saw Cork County home with 8 wickets to spare.

Munster Senior Cup Final:

County Kerry 60 all out (Wootton 5-20, Amin 2-16, Cawley 2-18) lost to Cork County 63-2 (Hassett 31*) by 8 wickets at the Mardyke. scorecard

2015 Munster Senior Cup Winners

2015-09-05 15.03.59

Big Red Bench preview Cork County’s season ahead

Tuesday, April 21st, 2015

Ross Durity and Rob Duggan of Cork County joined Ruairi O’Hagan on RedFM’s Big Red Bench to preview the season ahead as the Club open their Leinster Division 1 campaign at home to YMCA on Saturday, 2nd May. The Club’s Munster Senior Shield campaign begins at the Mardyke on Saturday, 25th April, against Co. Clare.