Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘cork county rebels’

Cork County Rebels clinch Senior T20 title

Tuesday, June 21st, 2016

The Munster Senior T20 Blast reached an exciting climax on Saturday, 18th June, when the Cork County Rebels clinched their second successive T20 title following a 7 wicket victory over Co. Galway amid wet conditions at the Mardyke.

Finals Day saw the four Semi-Finalists compete for a chance the compete for the T20 title. Cork County, County Kerry, County Galway and Cork Harlequins all converged on the Mardyke to battle it out for a place in Saturday evenings Final. Victories for both Cork County and County Galway saw a repeat of the 2015 showdown.

As the Final approach, the weather took a turn for the worse with a light drizzle becoming more persistent during the County Galway innings after the Tribesmen won the toss and decided to bat. In a reduced match of 14 overs a side, the Galway batsmen set the holders a tricky total of 90 to win as the conditions put batsmen, bowlers and fielders to the test. The main contributions for Galway came from opener S Nasim (23), S Ramnathpur (24) and SQ Khan (22) with Bhatti (3-11) and Brian Kelleher (2-18) doing most damage with the ball.

In reply, Galway took the prized scalp of Stephan Grobler early but an extremely composed partnership from Cork County skipper Chris Banon and teammate Cormac Hassett kept the Leesiders on a par with the Required Run Rate. Durity replaced Banon, after the opener edged one behind to Nasim, and continued the momentum with 14 from 14 balls until he was clean bowled with the result still in the balance. A authoritative display of batting from Abubakar Saddique (16*) saw Cork County home with just 7 balls remaining and 7 wickets in hand.

Semi-Final A

Cork County Rebels 103-1 (Grobler 44*, Banon 36) beat County Kerry 101-8 (U Khan 45, A Cawley 3-8) by 9 wickets. scorecard

Semi-Final B:

County Galway beat Cork Harlequins


Cork County Rebels 91-3 (Hassett 39*) beat County Galway 89-7 (Ramnathpur 24, Bhatti 3-11, Kelleher 2-18) by 7 wickets at the Mardyke. [reduced to a 14 over match] scorecard



Rebels through to Finals Day of Senior T20 Blast

Wednesday, June 15th, 2016

Reigning Champions Cork County Rebels captained by Chris Banon eased into Finals Day of the Munster Senior T20 Blast following two comfortable victories over Cork Harlequins and Midleton in Pool A of the competition. All three sides converged on the Mardyke on Saturday, 11th June, to play each other in a round robin T20 format.

Pool A

  • Cork County Rebels 185-3 beat Cork Harlequins 93-4 by 92 runs
  • Cork Harlequins beat Midleton
  • Midleton 79-9 lost to Cork County Rebels 83-3 by 7 wickets

The line-up for Finals Day on Saturday, 18th June, at the Mardyke is now known with last season’s winners Cork County Rebels taking on County Kerry in the first Semi-Final while Pool B winners County Galway take on Cork Harlequins.

  • Semi-Final A: Cork County Rebels  v  County Kerry
  • Semi-Final B: County Galway  v  Cork Harlequins
  • Final: Winners A  v  Winners B

The action kicks off at 10 a.m. on Saturday with some big hitting and crafty bowling sure to be on show! #CCRebels #MunsterT20

2016 Cork County Rebels