Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘Cork Youth Cricket’

U15s defeat Harlequins in Game 1 of Cork Youth Series

Friday, June 30th, 2017

Cork County U15s put in a mature team performance to record a comprehensive win their first game against Cork Harlequins as part of a 2017 Cork Youth Series. Put into bowl, County restricted Quins to 149 all out in 27 overs, with J Buss (23) and J. Gilbert (24) best of the Harlequins batsmen. For County Daniel Kennedy (3-28), Masroor Salam (2-16) Rioghan O’Sullivan (2-17) were the best of the bowlers, with all the team contributing in the field.

In reply County chased the total down in 30 overs for the loss of 2 wickets with Eshan O’Sullivan (49) and Rioghan O’Sullivan (30) the best of the County batsmen. Special mention must also go to Joe Bailey who fielded for Quins during the County innings, due to an unfortunate injury on the Quins side during the warm up between innings.

Congratulations to Daniel Kennedy and this team as they head into Game 2 on Friday, 7th July.

Cork County Cubs squad: Kennedy*, Salam, L Rahman, A Rahman, E O’Sullivan, R O’Sullivan, Alam, Hussain, Cullen, Farsi, S Bailey & J Bailey

Cork County U15 150-2 (Eshan 49, Rioghan 30*) beat Cork Harlequins U15 149-8 (Kennedy 3-28, Rioghan 2-17, Masroor 2-16) by 8 wickets at Farmers Cross.

Man of the Match: Rioghan O’Sullivan

Cork County U15s beat Cork Harlequins by 8 wickets


U14 Cubs side to face Harlequins announced

Friday, July 15th, 2016

Munster U14 League

The Cork County Cubs side to play Harlequins at the Mardyke on Friday, 15th July, is as follows:

  1. Anuka Kuruppuarachi
  2. Anupa Kuruppuarachi
  3. Bipin Paul
  4. Daniel Kennedy
  5. Eshan O’Sullivan
  6. Haroon Saffi
  7. Josh van Heerden
  8. Limon Rahman
  9. Oscar McCarthy
  10. Rioghan O’Sullivan
  11. Tahmid Alam

All players are requested to be at the club by 5pm at the latest, with the match due to start at 5.30pm. Best of luck lads! #WeAreCounty

Youth Cricket Coaching at the Mardyke

Thursday, June 27th, 2013

Cork County Cricket Club crestYouth cricket coaching will commence in full on Tuesday, 2nd July, at 4.00 p.m. at the Mardyke in Cork. The Cork County Cricket Academy will be run by, ECB Level 2 Coach and former Club Captain, Ross Durity. Ross is a highly experienced cricketer at both provincial and international level and has been involved in coaching the 1st team squad for a number of years. The sessions are open to cork cricketers of all levels and abilities and each one will last for approximately 2 hours. The schedule for youth cricket coaching in Cork is as follows:

Youth Coaching Schedule:



4.00 – 6.00 p.m.



For further details on youth cricket coaching in Cork, please don’t hesitate to contact Ross Durity (Youth Coach) on 086-2022325 or rossdurity@hotmail.com.

Alternatively you can contact the Club on 021-4272569 or at corkcountycc@gmail.com.

Connect with us on…

All coaches at Cork County Cricket Club adhere to the Munster Cricket Union’s Child Protection Policy which can be viewed by clicking here.

Return of Schools’ Cricket to the Mardyke

Sunday, March 31st, 2013

Wednesday , April 17th 2013, will see the return of schools’ cricket to the Mardyke in the form of a match between Cork City rivals Christian Brothers College and Presentation Brothers College. The match, scheduled to start at 2.30 p.m. (weather permitting) will consist of a 30 over innings per side and is sure to be fiercely contested. The first of its kind in the last 8 years the contest is yet another indication of the growing popularity of cricket in Ireland, and especially in Cork.

Cork County and Harlequins have representatives in both school squads and it is a valuable chance for those players to get in some practice before the official start of the season aswell as offering people who may have not played in recent seasons the chance to re-acquaint themselves with the sport.

This unique contest would not have been possible but for the contributions of coach Dermot Giltinan and captain Christian Brothers College CorkAidan Kelliher of PBC and their opposite numbers across the River Kevin O’Sullivan and Saad Azher of CBC. Their hard work and organisation ensured that both schools were able to field strong teams while also increasing the profile and availability of cricket in their respective schools.

Huge thanks must also go to the respective school authorities for giving permission for this game to go ahead and Cork County Cricket Club for allowing their ground to be used as a venue for the match. While the PBC side is a closely guarded secret the CBC side has been announced and is available below. We wish the best of luck to both sides!

CBC Cork

  1. Kevin O’Sullivan* (Cork County)
  2. Saad Azher (Cork Harlequins)
  3. Brad Morgan+ (Cork County)
  4. Cormac McCarthy-Hann (Cork Harlequins)
  5. Shahrukh Baig (Cork Harlequins)
  6. Fahd Baig (Cork Harlequins)
  7. Ronan Hill (None)
  8. Darragh Newman (Cork County)
  9. Ross Hill (None)
  10. Jack Hartnett (None)
  11. Cameron Penney (None)

PBC Cork

Team TBC