Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘Cricket Leinster’

2022 Leinster Senior League Cup Draw

Wednesday, February 2nd, 2022

The season isn’t far once you see competition draws being made with the first being the group stages of the Sports Hub Leinster Senior League Cup which sees our 1st XI in Group A alongside some familiar faces and high-quality Premier League opposition.

The group includes the 2021 finalists Merrion and YMCA along with fellow Premier League sides Clontarf and Balbriggan. Leinster, North Kildare, Rush and Cork County join them from the Championship in what looks like a formidable looking pool.

We’re looking forward to getting started!

2022 Senior League Cup_sq_web


Don’t miss the action

Renew your membership ahead of the 2022 season or if you’re new to Cork or simply want to get involved at the Mardyke then simply fill out our membership form:

New Members  Existing Members


Leinster Division 2 campaign opens away to Malahide

Tuesday, February 6th, 2018

Cork County will open the their Leinster Division 2 campaign against Malahide Cricket Club at the home of Irish cricket on Saturday, 21st April. The first fixture at the Mardyke will be against Balbriggan with two fixtures against Rush and Dublin University on the May bank holiday weekend before the visit of Strabane in the Irish Senior Cup. #WeAreCounty

Full list of fixtures can be viewed by clicking here.

2018 Leinster Division 2 Fixtures

County return to Leinster Division 2 for 2018 season

Monday, September 4th, 2017

Cork County completed their Leinster Division 1 campaign with a disappointing 181 run defeat to Phoenix at Phoenix Park on Saturday, 2nd September. The result did not directly impact on County’s once relegation was confirmed following defeat at home to YMCA two weeks earlier.

Though relegation was a disappointment for the club following on from the memorable Division 2 title win last season, everyone at Cork County looks forward to competing for that title once again in 2018.

The Cork County side who took on Phoenix in their final Division 1 fixture of the 2017 season.



Leinster Division 2 Review: Cork County win last 9 to grab title

Thursday, December 1st, 2016

Cork County 1- Champions (Predicted 4th)

  • • Batting Rating: 120
  • • Bowling Rating: 122
  • • RpO for: 4.64
  • • RpO against: 4.27

By mid-June, Cork County 1 were in spot of bother after losing to Dublin University, Leinster and Malahide in their first four matches. There was only one way they could win the league after that start, and that was by winning their remaining nine matches – a task that was achieved in an amazing late season run. It was Cork County’s second league title in Leinster, to go with their 2013 Division 3 crown.

Most of the games on that run in were healthy victories, although the nerves must have been frayed on the last game of all, when chasing 135 against Balbriggan, County found themselves at 119-7 and 128-8, with only Ross Durity standing up to the Balbriggan bowlers. Tom Clifford and Muhammad Junaid Amin got the required eight runs, and then there was a short wait to see if Leinster could win their last game against Terenure – they couldn’t.

Four players passed 200 league runs for the season, Cormac Hassett had a supporting role with 213 runs at 19.36, Ross Durity a very decent 271 runs at 30.11, Morne Bauer a very decent indeed 289 runs at 57.8 and Stephan Grobler 423 runs at 42.3. Five bowlers got into double wickets in the league, with Morne Bauer (12 at 23.08), Ahmed Billal Bhatti (12 at 25) and Muhammad Junaid Amin (12 at 25.42).

Two bowlers dominated though. Aaron Cawley has a major breakthrough season with 23 wickets at 15.61, with his skipper breaking a record held by two Leinster players – Joe Carroll and Corey Edwards. Stephan Grobler took 31 wickets at 11.23, the previous record being 30 in a league season.

Read the full Division 2 Review on www.cricketleinster.ie


County receive Leinster Division 2 honours

Saturday, November 12th, 2016

Cork County received their Leinster Division 2 trophy and pennant at the Annual Cricket Leinster Awards ceremony at Old Belvedere RFC. County had a number of representatives from the club in attendance at the Awards dinner including President Kieran Aherne, Robert Duggan, Ross Durity, Andy Wootton, Tim Clifford, Kevin O’Sullivan and Abdul Jabbar Younus.

Cricket Leinster President, Roland Bradley, presented Ross Durity with Division 2 pennant along with the league title trophy which will sit nicely alongside the Munster Premier Division and Senior T20 trophies.

The great night of celebrations followed on from the club receiving the prestigious Tildenet Club of the Year Award after a superb 2016 season.

Ross Durity receives the Division 2 trophy from LCU President Roland Bradley

Ross Durity receives the Division 2 Winners pennant from Cricket Leinster President Roland Bradley

Other Images

County up to 23 in Cricket Leinster’s All-Ireland rankings

Monday, July 14th, 2014

The Cricket Leinster All-Ireland rankings are back after a few weeks break and cover the period from the 25th June to 1st July which included Cork County’s great win away at Malahide in Division 2. In recognition of Cork County’s fantastic form in Leinster so far this season, the Leesiders have moved up six places to 23rd position after the win over Malahide. County are currently joint top of Leinster Division 2 with Malahide on 202 points and will aim to strengthen their position at the top of table over the coming weeks with important matches away to Leinster and Balbriggan.

Cricket Leinster's All Ireland rankings

Cork County up to 32 in All-Ireland Club Rankings

Thursday, June 5th, 2014

With plenty of action north and south over the weekend, there has been plenty of movement in our All Ireland Club rankings. Clubs need to complete ten “matches” to qualify, and Cork County have reached that threshold. Due to older matches counting for less, that ten matches equates to approximately 18 matches over a rolling three year period. Three weeks ago Cork were ranked at 45, but since then they have beaten Phoenix and Dublin University, and in addition to beating Donemana in the Irish Senior Cup, marks a pretty good month. They are now at 32nd.

All Ireland Club Rankings_June_2

2014 Leinster League Division 2 Fixtures announced

Thursday, January 9th, 2014

Cricket LeinsterCricket Leinster have announced the fixtures for the 2014 season which will see Cork County compete in Division 2 following their promotion from Division 3 last season. County will open the season with a home fixture against Leinster 1 at the Mardyke on Saturday, 26th April, and close their campaign at home once again when they welcome Rush 1 to the Mardyke on Sunday, 7th September.

The league has been extended to nine teams with Dublin University playing each team just once. Ross Durity and his squad will face some stiff competition with other sides such as Phoenix1, Malahide 1, Balbriggan 1, Pembroke 2 and Merrion 2 making up the league.

The full schedule of fixtures are as follows:

Leinster League Division 2

Sat 26 Apr Cork County 1 vs Leinster 1
Mon 5 May Cork County 1 vs Dublin University 1
Sat 17 May Merrion 2 vs Cork County 1
Sat 24 May Pembroke 2 vs Cork County 1
Mon 2 June Cork County 1 vs Phoenix 1
Sat 14 June Cork County 1 vs Balbriggan 1
Sun 22 June Rush 1 vs Cork County 1
Sat 28 June Malahide 1 vs Cork County 1
Sat 12 July Cork County 1 vs Merrion 2
Sat 26 July Leinster 1 vs Cork County 1
Mon 4 August Cork County 1 vs Pembroke 2
Sat 9 August Balbriggan 1 vs Cork County 1
Sun 17 August Cork County 1 vs Malahide 1
Sat 30 August Phoenix 1 vs Cork County 1
Sun 7 September Cork County 1 vs Rush 1