Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘Munster U-17 Squad’

Munster U-17 team named for Leinster clash

Friday, April 29th, 2011

The Munster U-17 side to face their Leinster counterparts at the Mardyke this Sunday has been named. The match will act as a trial for the Southern XI, which will take part in the 2011 U-17 Interporvincial tournament later in the season. Play starts in the Mardyke at 12 noon.
The squad in full:

  1. Eric Cotter
  2. Anthony O’ Reilly
  3. Ru Jones
  4. Rory O’ Keeffe
  5. Brad Morgan (all Cork Harlequins)
  6. Cian Scannell*
  7. Brian O’Leary
  8. Hugh O’Brien (all Cork County)
  9. Alam Morshed (Kerry)
  10. Tomas Turkington
  11. Luke Deane (both Midleton)
  12. Cillian Greenwood (Ampleforth College)

Coach: Ted Williamson

© 2011 Munster Cricket Blog

Koch to lead Cork County for 2011

Tuesday, December 7th, 2010

Munster Player of the Year, Bruce Koch, was duly elected as Club Captain of Cork County for the coming 2011 season at last night’s Annual General Meeting. Koch received overwhelming support for the captaincy after an inspired season with bat and ball during 2010. He takes over from outgoing captain, Robert Duggan, who led the Club to a Munster League and Cup double and also consolidating their position in Leinster League Division 2.

The meeting also saw the election of a new committee for the coming season with Kieran Aherne continuing on in his role as Club President while David Griffin and Donal Donovan returned to their positions of Honorary Treasurer and Secretary, respectively. The newly elected committee will comprise Peter Dineen, Robert Duggan, Matt Reed, William J. Bradley, Andrew Wootton, Dick Creedon and Mortimer Kelleher. Cricket Manager, Peter Dineen, informed the meeting that preparations for the upcoming season, in which Cork County will participate in a full schedule of Leinster Division 2 fixtures, were well under way.

The efforts of the steering committee led by Shay Livingstone, John Power and David Griffin and the project management team of Matt Reed and Stephen Hickey which combined to oversee the superb renovation of the clubhouse and Pavilion following the severe flooding of November 2009 were duly noted and graciously appreciated by all in attendance. Congratulations were also aknowledged for Bruce Koch on winning the Munster Player of the Year in recognition of his outstanding season and also for Chris Banon who won Munster U-17 Player of the Year after a superb breakthrough season for the Presentation Brothers College youngster.

Cork County CC Officers for 2011:
Club President: Kieran Aherne
Club Treasurer: David Griffin
Club Secretary: Donal Donovan
Club Captain: Bruce Koch
2nd XI Captain: tba
3rd XI Captain: William J. Bradley
4th XI Captain: Eugene McCarthy

Club Committe:
Peter Dineen
Robert Duggan
William J. Bradley
Matt Reed
Andrew Wootton
Mortimer Kelleher

Munster U-17’s face North County in Leinster League Final

Thursday, August 19th, 2010

The Munster U-17 side will take on North County U-17’s at Balrothery tomorrow in the final of the Leinster U-17 League competition. It is Munster’s first season participating in the competition and they have swept all before them in their charge to the final. The side, captained by Cork County’s Chris Banon, has recorded victories against Bagenalstown/Halverstown, Terenure, Leinster, Laois and YMCA while losing narrowly to Merrion in a tightly fought affair. The Munster U-17 squad includes a number of Cork County’s promising youth players such as Brian O’Leary, Noelie Cronin, Cian Scannell (pictured right), Tim Clifford, Brian Scott and skipper Chris Banon.

Leinster U-17 League Final:

North County v Munster, 1.00 p.m. at Balrothery

Banon to captain Munster in the Leinster U-17 League

Friday, July 9th, 2010

The following is a press release from the Munster Cricket Union:

Another significant milestone for Munster cricket development is reached on Friday July 9th as an U-17 Munster XI travels to Co. Kildare to take on a combined U-17 Bagenalstown/Halverstown team in Munster’s opening match of the 2010 LCU U-17 League. The side will be captained by Cork County’s rising star Chris Banon (pictured).

“This is an exciting prospect for our U-17 squad”, said James Doran, Cricket Ireland Development Officer for Munster today.“We have an experienced and talented group of players ranging in age from 13 to 17 who will benefit hugely from these opportunities to compete against their peers in Leinster”.

Doran went on to say that, “The credit for this initiative must go to Cork County’s Dermot Giltinan who made the initial approach to the LCU and Dermot joins me in expressing Munster’s appreciation of the very positive support given to this proposal by Maureen Joyce of Merrion CC and Clontarf CC’s Brian O’Sullivan”.

“The teams for our six match campaign will be selected from a panel of around 18 or so of our up and coming youth players with the selectors’ aiming to balance competitiveness with providing as many players as possible with match experience at this level.

Doran concluded by noting that the selectors would be keeping an open mind on the possibility of adding further players to the squad announced today with the performances of other younger players in the province being closely monitored as the season progressed.

The U-17 team coaching and managerial responsibilities will be shared by James Doran, Cricket Ireland Munster CDO, Ted Williamson, MCU Director of Youth Coaching, Ross Durity of Cork County CC and John Noone of Midleton CC with Cork County’s Dermot Giltinan joining the above-named for team selection duties.

The squad in full:

  1. Chris Banon* (Cork County)
  2. Eric Cotter (Cork Harlequins)
  3. Noel Cronin (Cork County)
  4. Killian Greenwood (Co. Clare)
  5. Ruadhan Jones (Cork Harlequins)
  6. Brad Morgan (Cork Harlequins)
  7. Jack Marks (Cork County)
  8. Alam Morshed (Co. Kerry)
  9. Liam Noone (Midleton)
  10. Rory O’Keeffe (Cork Harlequins)
  11. Brian O’Leary (Cork County)
  12. Anthony O’Reilly (Cork Harlequins)
  13. Rory Parata (Cork County)
  14. Cian Scannell (Cork County)
  15. Brian Scott (Cork County)
  16. Maninder Singh (Co. Clare)
  17. Tom Turkington (Midleton)

The Schedule of matches is:

Friday July 9th Bagenalstown/Halverstown

Tuesday July 13th CYM CC

Tuesday July 27th Leinster CC

Thursday July 29th Merrion CC

Thursday Aug. 12th Laois/Athlone

Tuesday Aug. 17th YMCA

Article copywrite: Munster Cricket Blog