Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘Tildenet Club of the Year’

Cork County awarded 2016 Irish Club of the Year

Saturday, November 12th, 2016

2016 Club of the Year - Cork County Cricket ClubCork County are the winners of the prestigious Tildenet Club of the Year Award after a superb 2016 season for the Munster club during which in addition to winning the Leinster Division Two title, they also retained the Munster Premier Division title.

The Leinster Division 2 triumph included nine straight wins which saw the Leesiders overcome hot favourites Leinster CC and clinch automatic promotion back to Division 1. Success in the Munster Premier Division saw County remain unbeaten in the competition and safely reain their league crown. The 1st XI’s T20 side, the Cork County Rebels, also retained their Senior T20 League title without a loss in the competition.

The Leinster Division 2 triumph was also the clubs second Leinster league title in four seasons following their Division 3 triumph in 2013.

This award is the result of all the hard work and commitment of players, supporters, committee members, sponsors and volunteers who have made Cork County the great club it is today. Not forgetting those members who have passed away over recent years.

Other awards handed out on the night saw Ireland stars Ed Joyce and Ciara Metcalfe have been rewarded for impressive international seasons by being named winners of the top prizes at the 2016 KPC Group Cricket Ireland Awards.

Joyce fought off tough competition from Kevin O’Brien and Tim Murtagh to claim the KPC Group International Men’s Player of the Year award. He scored 522 runs during the qualification period at an average of 58, scoring two centuries against Afghanistan. It’s a hat-trick for Joyce, who previously won the award in 2013 and 2015.

Ciara Metcalfe scooped the Cricketshop.ie International Women’s Player of the Year award,  beating off the challenge of Isobel Joyce and Kim Garth. The Hills’ leg-spinner Metcalfe was rewarded after an excellent season saw her take 22 wickets at just 15.59, helping Ireland to wins over both South Africa and Bangladesh. She also took 4 for 15 against Sri Lanka in the T20 World Cup.

Barry McCarthy is this year’s Sunday Independent Aengus Fanning Emerging Player of the Year. The 24 year-old enjoyed a remarkable debut season in international cricket, taking 18 ODI wickets in just eight matches, including four-wicket hauls against Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Former Ireland wicket-keeper Paul Jackson became the 13th inductee to the Cricket Ireland Hall of Fame, which is voted for by the Cricket Writers of Ireland. Jackson joins fellow Irish cricketing legends Simon Corlett, Mike Halliday, Stephen Warke, Ivan Anderson, Gerry Duffy, Ginger O’Brien, Ossie Colhoun, Roy Torrens, Dougie Goodwin, Jack Short, Alf Masood and Alec O’Riordan.

Full details of the 2016 Cricket Ireland can be viewed by clicking here.

The winning line up from the 5th Annual Cricket Ireland Awards! #CIAwards2016

Club Treasurer, David Griffin, and Club President, Kieran Aherne, pictured with the other 2016 Cricket Ireland Award winners


Full List of Award Winners:

  • KPC Group International Men’s Player of the Year – Ed Joyce
  • Cricketshop.ie International Women’s Player of the Year – Ciara Metcalfe
  • Aengus Fanning Sunday Independent International Emerging Player of the Year – Barry McCarthy
  • Flogas Junior Player of the Year – Lorcan Tucker
  • Shapoorji Pallonji Academy Player of the Year – Josh Little
  • Hanley Energy Inter-Provincial Player of the Year – John Anderson
  • Toyota Super 3’s Player of the Year – Eimear Richardson
  • O’Neills Club Player of the Year –  John Anderson
  • Notts Sports Coach of the Year – Rob O’Connor
  • IAA Official of the Year – Paul Reynolds
  • Tildenet Club of the Year – Cork County
  • Oasis Group Volunteer of the Year – Herbie Honohan
  • Gibneys Outstanding Contribution to Irish Cricket Award – Eddie Lewis
  • Cricket Writers of Ireland Hall of Fame Award – Paul Jackson