Cork Cricket Club


Posts Tagged ‘Tipperary County Cricket Club’

A thrilling win for Cork County 3 in Ballyeighan

Monday, July 14th, 2014

Cork County 3 made the long trip to Ballyeighan to take on Tippearary 2 on Sunday last. Tippearary won the spin of the coin and had no hesitation in asking County to bat first.

Abdul Younus and Peter Barlow strode out to face the new ball but Barlow was back in the pavilion just two overs later when he was bowled by a ball that kept low. Variable bounce was a feature throughout the game but was dealt with well by County batsmen Younus and Renjarla who succeeded in putting on a sizeable partnership, Renjarla in particular attacking the home side’s bowling. He eventually fell in the thirteenth over when he was caught behind having made 34 out of 58.

Captain Billy Quinn joined Younus at the crease but did not last long as he also nicked through to the ‘keeper, leaving the visitors in a spot of bother at 63-3 from 15.3 overs. Younus was joined by Kevin O’Sullivan and both batsmen played defensively as they attempted to see their side through to drinks. They managed this successfully and County had reached 81-3 at drinks a very credible effort given the team’s recent struggles with the bat. Both batsmen attempted to up the rate after drinks and their cause was helped by a flurry of boundaries, the score progressing to 116 without any further damage in the wickets column.


However, with twelve overs remaining in the innings, the momentum swung back in the hosts’ favour, O’Sullivan and Younus both out in consecutive overs. Sachin Saxena was the next to go and he was soon followed by Muhammad Haroon, caught out of his ground by a sharp throw from fine leg. Talha Kayani dispatched a no-ball over square leg for six and then added another boundary through mid-wicket as the score reached 150. He was bowled shortly afterwards and some good, aggressive running from John Simon, Mort Kelleher and Nazim Rehman helped the score to 163 when the final wicket fell with just five balls remaining in the innings.

Tippearary needed a good start and they got one, Aaron Cawley looking in particularly good touch.Despite economical spells from the opening bowlers, County could not find a wicket and it took a change of ends for Narsa Renjarla to eventually make the breakthrough, Keith Marchbank unable to keep out a straight one.

Bibin joined Cawley but the batsmen could not get above the required rate, a fantastic spell from Sachin Saxena coupled with testing bowling from Kevin O’Sullivan and Nazim Rehman. Despite seeming to be run out twice early in his innings, Bibin continued to take chances to try and achieve the required rate. Some excellent fielding from the visitors helped them to keep control of the game and when Cawley was bowled by Abdul Younus for a well-made 58 the game looked to be up.

So it proved as with four late wickets, two of them run-outs, County managed to close out an impressive seven run victory, the first time in five years a Cork County team has won in Ballyeighan.

Weekend Preview – 12th/13th July

Thursday, July 10th, 2014

Cork County are set to return to Leinster Division 2 action this Saturday when they welcome Merrion 2 to the Mardyke. County remain undefeated in their Leinster campaign so far and lie second in the league table, just 1 point behind Malahide, and recorded a 9 wicket victory over the Angelsea Road side in the reverse fixture earlier in the season.

Merrion 2 currently sit eighth in the league table, with three league wins this year and will be hoping to kickstart their season with a win at the Mardyke. However their task will be made more difficult as Merrion’s first team are also in action on the same day.

A Cork County win would heap more pressure on Malahide at the summit of Division 2 and despite going into this game as favourites, Ross Durity’s team will be taking nothing for granted against a dangerous Merrion side.

Cork County Cricket Club 1st XI

On Sunday the third team make the long trip to Ballyeighan on the Tippearary/Offaly border for their Division 3 league clash with Tippearary 2. Billy Quinn’s side started the season brightly but defeats in recent weeks have eroded the confidence of the team. With a number of regulars unavailable for the trip north County will go into this game as underdogs but will hoping to get their league campaign back on track in the Midlands.

Tippearary 2 come into the game having been defeated by Midleton 2 in the Minor Cup and will be looking to bounce back from that loss. This game is sure to be a competitive one with both teams in need of league points.

Live ball by ball updates will be available from the Mardyke on Saturday via the Cricket Leinster website while you can keep up to date with events in Tippearary on Sunday via our Twitter account @Cork_CountyCC

Cork County forced to forfeit Munster Senior Cup tie

Friday, June 20th, 2014

It is with great disappointment that Cork County have been forced to forfeit their Munster Senior Cup Quarter Final tie with Tipperary County Cricket Club which took place on Sunday, 11th May, due to fielding an ineligible player. The player in question was Rory O’Keeffe who had joined the club from Cork Harlequins during the off-season. Cork County went on to win the fixture by 186 runs.

The Club acknowledge that the selection of Rory for this Cup fixture was a mistake and an oversight as he was subject to a 2 match ban handed down by the Munster Cricket Union at the end of the 2013 season, while he was still a Cork Harlequins player, and which was due to be carried over into the start of this season.

The Munster Senior Cup as a competition has always been held in high regard by the players and supporters of Cork County having won the trophy seven times in the past ten years, and so it is extremely disappointing to have been eliminated in this manner but the Club looks forward to returning to the competition in 2015. The Club also remains firmly focused on achieving success in both Munster Division 1 and Leinster Division 2 competitions this season.

Cork County winners of Munster Senior Cup 2013